Immersed In My Rabbi

Yoel ben Yisrael
5 min readAug 23, 2020

What happened when I left my religion, to follow The Rabbi?

Photo by Jong Marshes on Unsplash

Watchtower Baptism

February 24th, 2007. How could I ever forget this date? It was the day I got baptized, to become an official Jehovah’s Witness. I remember it like it was yesterday. I had been planning to get baptized. Today was the day. I’ll be honest. I saw my Watchtower buddies get immersed; TJ, Scott, Carl, Terrance, Sydney. I was like, “What’s preventing me from getting baptized?” So yeah, I was imbued by some positive peer pressure.

The night before, I remember practicing. As I was in the shower on February 23rd, 2007, I put my left hand to my right elbow, my right index finger and thumb to my nose, turned away from the running shower water, closed my brown eyes, and proceeded to lean my head back. Nailed it! I didn’t slip. I didn’t drown. No lifeguard needed. I’m ready!

I recall being, what I will call, “nexcited”. This is a portmanteau I just innovated. On the spot. Yeah. That just happened. I was both nervous, but excited! I could barely sleep that night. This was a big deal to me. I felt that my life was going to forever changed.

I had went through the 104 question Watchtower catechism. A rite of passage, for the pool of candidates, interested in being immersed. Pun intended. I was now at the building in Belleville…

--

--